What happens when you change or delete a photo
If you edit photos in Google Photos, changes won’t show in Google Drive.
When you delete a photo from Google Photos, it’ll also get deleted from Google Drive.
If you delete a photo from Google Drive, it’ll also get deleted from Google Photos.
If you delete from the Google Photos folder in My Drive:
If you delete individual photos or videos, they will be removed from Google Photos.
If you delete folders (including the Google Photos folder), photos and videos won’t be deleted in Google Photos. This is to avoid deleting all your photos and videos by accident.
If you move photos from the Google Photos folder to a different folder and delete them from there, they’ll also be deleted in Google Photos.